leftround   rightround
logo   Demerec Laboratory
spacer

CSHL 

Library & Archives

Buildings Timeline
spacer
spacer


Demerec Laboratory Complete 1953

Formal opening ceremonies were held on May 29, 1953, attended by representatives of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, the Carnegie Institution of New York, The Long Island Biological Association, and the staffs of both laboratories. The principal speaker for the event was Dr. Vannevar Bush, Carnegie Institution of Washington president at that time. Interestingly, in his address Dr. Bush spoke about the various fields of research supported by the Carnegie Institution throughout the U.S. and commented, But there is no science that is more fascinating, more intriguing, than the science of biology as it today flourishes. (Biological Laboratory Annual Report 1952-53).

spacer

Demerec Laboratory
Gallery

1941Milislav
Demerec
1951Construction
Begins
1952Construction
Continues
1953Demerec
Complete
1953First
Occupants
1963Institutions
Merge
1963John
Cairns
196631st
Symposium
1970sScientists
1981South
Addition
1989North
Addition
2013Demerec
Lab today
spacer

Copyright © 2006 Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. All rights reserved.
CSHL Library and Archives, 1 Bungtown Rd., Cold Spring Harbor, NY 11724
Library Information 516-367-6872
spacer
spacer